Colonel Matthew J. Martin is currently the Trauma Medical Director and Chief of Surgical Critical Care at Madigan Army Medical Center (MAMC), Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington. He is also the Director of Surgical Research and the former Associate Program Director for the MAMC General Surgery residency program. He is a Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Washington School of Medicine, and Associate Professor of Surgery at the Uniformed Services University in Bethesda, MD. COL Martin also serves as a staff trauma surgeon and the Director of Trauma Informatics at Legacy Emanuel Medical Center in Portland, Oregon. He is the current Chair of the Army State, Region 13, for the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma. He has deployed twice in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom and twice in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.

Dr. Martin received his BA in psychology in 1990 from Boston University, an MA in Medical Science from Boston University School of Graduate Education in 1995, and his MD from the Boston University School of Medicine in 1998. He completed residency training in General Surgery at Madigan Army Medical Center, and a fellowship in Trauma and Surgical Critical Care at Los Angeles County Hospital + USC Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA.

Dr. Martin maintains an active surgical practice in general surgery, bariatric surgery, and trauma/critical care. He established an active basic science and animal trauma research laboratory at Madigan Army Medical Center in 2005, and his research interests are currently focused on combat injuries and resuscitation, traumatic acidosis and coagulopathy, and ischemia-reperfusion injury.


"The clinical research supported by the National Trauma Institute will ultimately save thousands of military and civilian casualties by producing the "evidence" necessary for the provision of evidence-based medicine."

Timothy C. Fabian, MD, FACS,
Head of the Department of Surgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, Tennessee and Chairman, National Trauma Institute