Dr. Angela F. Gardner, M.D., F.A.C.E.P. is Chief of Operations, Quality and Patient Safety and an Associate Professor for the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern. She served as the President of the American College of Emergency Physicians, the national specialty society for emergency medicine, from 2009 to 2010. In that capacity, she was involved in the formation of the Affordable Care Act, earning her the distinction of being named #83 on the list of “Top 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare” by Modern Healthcare in 2010. She received the ACEP John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award in 2015, the highest honor in the specialty of emergency medicine. She is also a recipient of the James E. Hayes Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Field of Emergency Medicine and the Texas Tech Emergency Medicine Outstanding Alumni Award. Dr. Gardner has served on the Board of the National Trauma Institute for five years and is currently a member of the Science Committee. She served in a number of leadership roles in the American College of Emergency Physicians including President, Vice-President and Secretary/Treasurer. She served on the ACEP Board for 10 years, and continues to be active on the Federal Government Affairs Committee, the Quality and Patient Safety Committee, and the Public Relations Committee.

Dr. Gardner is a former president of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians, was instrumental in achieving tort reform in Texas, and received a commendation from the Texas Legislature for her work in 2009.

An active member of the Dallas County Medical Society since moving to Dallas in 2009, Dr. Gardner serves as a Delegate to the Texas Medical Association. She has been involved in TMA as a contributor to the Daily Headlines and as Chair of the Socioeconomic reference committee during the most recent House of Delegates meeting.

Dr. Gardner is an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas, Texas. She earned her medical degree at Texas Tech Health Sciences Center in Lubbock, Texas and completed her residency in emergency medicine at the Texas Tech Regional Academic Health Center in El Paso, Texas. She attended college at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas.

"The clinical research supported by the National Trauma Institute will ultimately save thousands of military and civilian casualties by producing the "evidence" necessary for the provision of evidence-based medicine."

Timothy C. Fabian, MD, FACS,
Head of the Department of Surgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, Tennessee and Chairman, National Trauma Institute