Archive for August, 2014

NTI Appoints New Officers and Board Members

Thursday, August 21st, 2014

The National Trauma Institute (NTI) appointed new leaders and welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors this month.

Jerry J. Jurkovich, MD, FACS, assumes the Board Chair position, relieving Donald H. Jenkins, MD, FACS, who served in the position for two years and moves to the Vice-Chair position to provide continuity for NTI’s advocacy efforts. Basil A. Pruitt, Jr., MD, FACS, replacing long-serving M. Margaret Knudson, MD, FACS, begins a three-year term as Science Committee Chair, while Gregory J. Beilman, MD, FACS, succeeds David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS in the Science Committee Vice-Chair role.

Newly appointed at-large members serving two-year terms, Drs. Martin Croce, Eric Elster, Nicole Gibran and Wayne Meredith join the 24-member board during an exciting period in the organization’s evolution. With its first funded studies closing and beginning to return and publish meaningful results, NTI now turns to advocate for development of two major trauma research infrastructure projects: a National Trauma Research Repository and a Trauma Clinical Trials Network.

“We’re very optimistic about acquiring the funding for both a repository and a clinical trials network,” said Board of Directors Chair Jerry Jurkovich. “Our new board members and leaders are sure to add influence and enthusiasm to our efforts.”

NTI works in coalition with like-minded organizations to achieve rapid advances in traumatic injury treatment that can save lives. The organization’s leaders believe that a robust research infrastructure is long over-due, pointing to a 40-year history of federally acknowledged research funding inadequacies.

To read board member bios, visit the NTI Board of Directors page.